Something to think about

There is something I need to confess. I really have a hard time writing. It’s been awhile since I write a very personal blog. I always avoid those type of writing because I always over exaggerate the situation and most of the time I write negative things and I cuss, A LOT. So to keep myself from trouble I write things that I like, like food. I can write recipes, experience in school, what I learn and all that goody goody stuff. But that’s not the reason why I made a food blog. It’s just that I found something that is really worth writing, my passion about food.

But the thing is, I feel like writing when I’m in the heights of emotional distress or happiness so it’s basically a personal thing that I like to share. I read my old blogs way back 2007 and I can’t keep myself from laughing. Terrible grammar, really personal and very detailed, and just plain funny. I can’t believe I wrote those things. I feel like I’m reunited with my old self again. I was young and free to say anything because I simply don’t care what other people think but now, I’m paranoid. I don’t know. Maybe I learned that I shouldn’t over share for my own good. Especially when you talk about your employer, your teacher, your work, religion and politics. Those type of topics are very sensitive and I am not wasting my time for a debate. Whether you like it or not, there is no such thing as “freedom of speech”. It’s like when you post something in facebook like “I hate my job”, when your boss read such thing, you bet your ass the next day you come to work you’re fired. That’s a sad fact. We live in a world where computers and internet are a necessity. We depend on them. If we want to know or search something, we google them. Future employers google potential employees. You don’t want your future boss see your pictures hammered and wasted. I would say that if you like to be bold and loud, maybe set your facebook to private and don’t blog because it will destroy you. Just like Anthony Bourdain said “Try being entertaining. Try being didactic. Stop being angry. If you’re an angry person with too many cats and a grudge against the New York Times, maybe you shouldn’t be blogging.” It’s common sense after all. There are boundaries towards writing.

Food blog is a personal blog because it’s a personal interest. But I see it more as a professional blog or formal blogging. Formal, because I don’t use bold languages and bold topic. The pictures of my food might be sexy and yummy but it’s not something to disgust or disagree about. But I think I need to put a personal touch to it because that’s what missing. When I write neutrally it’s like a picture without color or a food without taste. I guess writing personal things doesn’t hurt as long as it’s not too personal. It’s always good to save something for yourself.

One thought on “Something to think about

  1. i like this. mao ni ako greatest struggle. i realized a long time ago na dapat naay theme ang blog and you stick to it e.g. fashion, food, movies etc. then put a personal touch so that it still has its own voice. BUT, unfortunately, haha i can’t do it. you have been successful so far: food and photography. I, on the other hand, can’t still separate my personal life way tooo much to the point that all my blogs become sooo personal. bwahahaha. pero i think at the end of the day, content is all that matters. sometimes i just really want to not care at all because that’s the only time great writing is being produced. nice once, rica!

Leave a Reply

