Dessert sauces

Yesterday’s class in Soup and Sauce was dessert sauces. Each of us made creme anglaise which is the base for vanilla bean ice cream (my first time to make a really good ice cream), strawberry coulis which is simply a pureed fruit, ganache (pronounce as ganash), a chocoalte sauce, sabayon which almost made me drunk and caramel sauce. I never make any dessert sauce before, I guess I always depend on hershey’s syrup which I realized is too rich and disgusting compared to these sauces you made from scratch.

Dessert sauces is about contrast. If you have a very sweet desserts like cake or any pastries containing chocolate or elaborate creams, it is best served with acidic sauce like unsweetened fruit coulis. The dessert sauces we made are just a base and we can make variations out of it. Example is creme anglaise. You can add spirits (whiskey, brandies, liqueurs), fruits, chocolate, coffee and so on whatever you like. But personally, I like it the way it is. I just love the vanilla flavor which is the main flavor of creme anglaise. I was surprised of making ganache. It is very simple and one of the best chocolate sauce I’ve ever tasted. If you want to make chocolate sauce from scratch, try ganache instead of using hershey syrup. Just simmer cream and milk, add chocolate and add the butter in the end. That’s it. Of course you have to cool it down before you add it to your cake or whatever.

The pictures above are the sauces I made. My caramel tasted bitter at the end maybe because I didn’t pay attention when I was making it (I was busy whisking my creme anglaise). I still find it weird when you add liqueur in your dessert sauce just like the sabayon. Sabayon itself is the only sauce that originally have wine in it. I personally don’t like it that much. The rest are really good. Then again, I was feeling light headed after class. I ate too much ice cream.

2 thoughts on “Dessert sauces

  1. there are many versions to ganache. Of course the milk is to thin the consistency. We make ganache without butter, since it’s rich just the way it is. If only cream is used, the problem is that it will become hard when chilled so you’d have to reheat it to bring it back to sauce consistency.

    Alcohol on dessert sauces give them a really nice flavor and add leagues of depth to the taste. Like adding rum to your caramel, for example, or wine to your coulis.

Leave a Reply

