Biko (sweet rice cake)

My husband keeps asking me to make biko. He’s been craving for it for so many months now and I always forget to make it. At last, the weather hits Nebaska pretty bad, and I have the reason to make one. I don’t have class and my dental appointment was canceled due to “increment” weather. The snow sucks I tell you! I’d rather have rain than freaking snow. So if anyone of you (especially from tropical countries) wishes to have snow in your area, DON’T! seriously you guys don’t have any idea what its like to deal with cold hell and 10 inches deep snow. Our dogs can’t even walk.

Back to the topic. I made biko and I got the recipe online. Thanks for panlasangpinoy.com. In contrary to my husband, biko is my least favorite dessert. The gooeyness or the stickyness of it is a bit weird. My perception is, rice is not suppose to be like that -sticky and sweet. I’d still eat it but I eat with dried fish or anything salty to contradict the flavor. My mother is  the best when cooking biko. She used purple rice and her biko is way better than mine.

The biko turned out okay, I guess. My husband devours it as usual. He’s going to bring some to work since one of his friends who tasted my biko last summer was also craving for it (weird). They all think that it tasted like oatmeal which is funny because I don’t like oatmeal.I wrapped my biko with banana leaf to add some banana leafy flavor and it’s also better that way.

Recipe from panlasang pinoy

2 cups glutinous rice (aka sticky rice or malagkit)

1  1/2 cups water

2 cups brown sugar

4 cups coconut milk

1/2 tsp salt

1. Combine the sticky rice and water in a rice cooker and cook until the rice is ready (we intentionally combined lesser amount of water than the usual so that the rice will not be fully cooked)

2. While the rice is cooking, combine the coconut milk with brown sugar and salt in a separate pot and cook in low heat until the texture becomes thick. Stir constantly.

4. Once the rice is cooked and the coconut milk-sugar mixture is thick enough, add the cooked rice in the coconut milk and sugar mixture then mix well. Continue cooking until all the liquid evaporates (but do not overcook).

5. Scoop the cooked biko and place it in a serving plate then flatten the surface.

6. Share and Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Biko (sweet rice cake)

  1. I think it looks interesting. I had some rice cooked in coconut milk when I was in Thailand a few years ago and it was great. It had slices of mango with it and I have been wanting to try to recreate it at home. Just may have to give it a try.

Leave a Reply

