Boston Cream Pie (chrm 1030 recipe 6)

What can I say? Hooray for my first real cake I baked! The first time I heard Boston Cream Pie, I thought I will be making a pie, but when I saw photos from google images, it’s actually a cake. I chose this recipe because I know its going to be challenging for me. I never bake a cake before (except those cake mix you found in grocery store). Everytime I tried to bake, its always unsuccessful. Maybe because I’m very stubborn following the recipe step by step and measurements are pain in the ass. But measurements are very important in baking. I can’t wait to take my basic baking class next semester.

According to wikipidea, boston cream pie is a round cake that is split and filled with a custard or cream filling and frosted with chocolate. Although it is called a Boston cream pie, it is in fact a cake, and not a pie. Created by French chef M. Sanzian at Boston’s Parker House Hotel, this pudding and cake combination comprises two layers of sponge cake filled with vanilla custard or crème pâtissière. The cake is topped with a chocolate glaze (such as ganache) and sometimes powdered sugar or a cherry. The texture of a Boston creme pie is just like that of a cake filled with a pudding-like creme.


Baking this is in fact very challenging, at least for an amateur like me. I have to ask help from my husband to explain to me some english words that for some reason I don’t understand (like batter, what the hell is a batter? batter of what?). And then here comes the parchment paper. I sprayed the round cake pans with oil and I put the parchment paper on top and then poured the flour mix on the paper. What an idiot! I realized that after I tear up the paper from the sponge cake, leaving ugly hole spots (kung sa bisaya pa na pahak). Good thing I have to flip it and put the cream in the middle, so its all covered.

The taste is good according to my husband, classmates and chef instructor. I will surely bake this cake again. Maybe tomorrow.

Get the recipe from joy of baking.

2 thoughts on “Boston Cream Pie (chrm 1030 recipe 6)

  1. Hi Rica,
    Wait til you read about Whoopie Pies (which my state of ME is considering of announcing as its state dessert). In some states that claim whoopie pies originated from them, these are seen as the new “cupcakes.”

Leave a Reply

