Maja Blanca (2nd version)

This is the same with the first version only better. What’s the difference? This one is properly made and the other one is, let’s just say, I have little experience in cooking at that time. It’s just a Jello, anyone can make this. There’s no big deal, I know! But I’m very happy the way it turned out. I changed the recipe a little bit and also the procedure. So here it is.

Ingrediesnts:

  • 1 can of coconut milk
  • 2 cans of evaporated milk
  • 1 and 1/2 cup of condensed milk
  • 1 cup of white sugar
  • 1 cup of corn kernels
  • 1/2 cup of cornstarch
  • handful of raisins and peanuts

Procedure:

  • boil the coconut milk. use a deep pan
  • after boiling, pour 1 can of evaporated milk, condensed milk, sugar and corn kernels. bring to boil.
  • on the other hand, mix the remaining evaporated milk with corn starch. When the cornstarch is dissolve, pour it in the mixture.
  • stir it until its sticky.
  • prepare the container you’re going to use. I would suggest something with design just like a jello container. spray oil and then spread raisins and peanuts.
  • pour the sticky maja blanca. cover it when its not anymore warm (don’t cover when its still warm coz it will create moist inside)
  • put it in the fridge for awhile or until its cold.
  • when ready to serve, flip it over with a plate or anything flat. get the container slowly and be careful not to break it. serve and enjoy the creamylisciousness of maja blanca! 🙂
2 thoughts on “Maja Blanca (2nd version)

  1. Hi Rica,
    Thanks for the visit to my site and leaving a comment under sapin sapin. It is always nice to see more blogs which are potential sources of recipes to add to my collection, or at least as sources of inspiration or ideas.

    I am not a big fan of maja, because somehow, the cornstarch overwhelms me. Howeer, reading your list of ingredients here made me think, “This seems like a real winner.” I might give this a try one of this days. Definitely bookmarked (I have lots of bookmarked recipes but I do tend to forget about them until the craving hits me again, or until I read about it in some blogs.).

    I still have a to-do-one-of-these-days native kakanin…but I will when I find the time.

Leave a Reply

